Hidden Treasures!

I have been away.  I have had another trip to my Mother-in-law’s (MIL) to finalize her move to a nursing home, where she will spend the rest of her days.  It was  a requested trip that I was putting off as long as possible because I knew it was going to be hard – and it was!

I booked my flight and flew out within 48 hours of the phone call I received from the cousins who had been working for weeks without my input.  I owed them …. so I went, but I went with a dread within me!  I knew it would be all the things I dislike.  Flying, cold weather, no car, relying on others, meeting people I didn’t know very well, making decisions, packing, cleaning, no internet, being away from my support system …. I could go on and on!  But I went …. I’m good in a crisis – I told myself!!

The airport and the flight went well.  I love the check in online before you get there, as it frees my mind and gives me security.  Once again, seat 17F came in for me with a row to myself and I didn’t need to ask for a seatbelt extender.  Just before landing, I did something I usually don’t do – I used the toilet on the aircraft.  I don’t like aeroplane toilets as they make me feel claustrophobic and panicky.  But when the need arises, there is no alternative!  Before leaving the toilet, I checked everything was tucked in and straightened and clean. I returned to my seat and waited for landing and disembarking.  It wasn’t long before I was greeting my cousin by marriage, after a long walk through the airport to the baggage claim.  As my cousin got my bag, I suddenly felt something dangling behind me!  Yes, you guessed it!  I had walked off the plane, past the flight attendants, through a busy airport like this ….

toilet paper tail

And so it began!!!  From then on, it went much as I expected.  There was plenty of this ….

2015-08-05 09.09.55

That eventually turned into this …..

2015-08-05 11.51.27

But what I didn’t expect were the hidden treasures I discovered.  Love letters dated 1945!  Baptismal remembrances dated 1918!  Garden plans from 1982, with every rose named!  Unsigned Secret Admirer letters to my husband!

And these gorgeous things from MIL’s younger days ….

2015-08-03 10.47.12

2015-08-03 10.49.09

I, also, didn’t expect to find the wonderful, caring, uplifting relationships I experienced from my husband’s family, both in the city and on the farm where I stayed.  It wasn’t long before my tired mind and body were nourished with food and warmth and love and conversation and most especially laughter.  I was embraced into a family that I had never really known I had.  These people were mostly just names to me.  Yes, I may have stayed at their home once long ago and chatted on the phone for a few moments but to pick me up and to make me feel loved and cherished was something I had not been prepared for.  My mind and heart came back to Brisbane refreshed and full.  After hard days at my MIL’s Unit, I was lucky to be able to experience this ….

2015-08-04 13.44.55

2015-08-04 13.52.30

2015-08-03 08.59.35

And this ….

2015-08-04 14.22.12

2015-08-04 15.28.14

And not to forget this ….

2015-08-04 16.26.54

How relieved I am to be able to leave my MIL in the Nursing Home, knowing that these caring family members will visit her and care for her when I am not able to be there.  They made so many sacrifices for me while I was with them, as they have done for my MIL over the years.  Yes, it was hard to leave her but I know she is cared for and happier than the last time I saw her – mostly because she had been visited by the hairdresser and had a cut and perm!  Not bad for nearly 97!

2015-08-05 15.23.25

My flight back to Brisbane gave me some stunning views of Moreton Island from the plane window. (As seen at the top of my post.)  This completed a most wonderful trip away, full of Hidden Treasures!

Some would say I am lucky – I choose to called it blessed.

4 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures!

Leave a Reply

